About the East African Community Medicines Regulatory Harmonization (EAC MRH) Programme

The East African Community Medicines Regulatory Harmonization (EAC-MRH) Programme was launched in 2012 with a charitable purpose of improving access to safe, efficacious and good quality essential medicines for the treatment of conditions of public health importance in the East African Community Partner States.

The overall goal of this programme is to have a harmonized and functioning medicines registration and regulation system within the East African Community in accordance with the national and internationally recognized standards and best practices.

The EAC-MRH Programme is collaboratively being implemented by all the six (6) National Medicines Regulatory Authorities (NMRAs) in the EAC region namely; Department of Pharmacy, Medicines and Laboratories (DPML) of Burundi, National Drug Authority (NDA) of Uganda, Pharmacy and Poisons Board (PPB) of Kenya, Pharmacy Task Force (PTF) of Rwanda, Tanzania Food and Drugs Authority (TFDA) and Zanzibar Food and Drugs Board (ZFDB).

At regional level, the East African Community Secretariat coordinates implementation the EAC-MRH Programme in accordance with the approved objectives and timelines. The Secretariat in collaboration with other development partners also coordinates mobilization of resources to run the Programme.